Header Ads

Minoga, Gabbie dropped from Kumuls squad for UK Knights match

Minoga dropped. Photo PNG Kumuls Media
Papua New Guinea Kumuls second row Willie Minoga and winger Edene Gabbie have been dropped from the Kumuls side that will take on England Knights on the 27th of October in Lae.

Coach Michael Marum said Gabbie has been dropped from the side due to lack of performance during the PM’s XIII match whilst Minoga had family obligations and in failing fitness test.
Coach Marum revealed that Dilbert Isaac will replace Minoga and Junior Rau returns to the squad to replace Gabbie.

Marum said both players will have to work hard and train to be on squad. He said Rhyse Martin will not join the squad after he requested to take time off before the pre-season commences.

Marum said Daniel Russell will also miss out as he will be joining the North Queensland Cowboys in camp to prepare for the pre-season.

Marum revealed that Zev John from Mt Hagen, an under 20 Melbourne Storms player will join the boys in camp.

He said bringing young players like John is part of their preparations towards the 2021 world cup. He said three other PNG under 23 residents side players will also be given the opportunity to be in the squad.

Meanwhile, Marum said they will work on improving in their ball handling errors with a focus in building a new team and combinations.

He further stressed that they hope to keep these players in the long term towards the next world cup. 


The team in alphabetical order:

1.     David Mead- Catalan Dragons

2.     Dilbert Isaac-PNG Hunters

3.     Enoch Maki- PNG Hunters

4.     James Segeyaro- Cronulla Sharks

5.     Junior Rau- PNG Hunters

6.     JustinOlam- Melbourne Storms

7.     Kyle Laybutt- North Queensland Cowboys

8.     Lachlan Lam- Sydney Roosters

9.     Moses Meninga- PNG Hunters

10. Nene Macdonald- St George Illawarra Dragons

11. Nixon Putt- PNG Hunters

12. Radley Brawa- PNG Hunters

13. Stanton Albert- PNG Hunters

14. Tom Butterfield- East Tigers

15.   Watson Boas- PNG Hunters

16. Wellington Albert- Widnes Vikings

17. Zev John-Melbourne Storms

PNGFM/ONEPNG/Media Release
Powered by Blogger.