Header Ads

Six PNG Government Ministers Resign and join Opposition

A total of six Ministers have resigned from the O'Neill Government and have moved to join the alternate Government camp at the Laguna Hotel in Port Moresby this afternoon.

They include State Enterprises Minister William Duma, Police Minister Jelta Wong, Defence Minister William Onglo, Minister assisting the Prime Minister on Bougainville Affairs Tomait Kapli who are all United Resources Party members, while the other two are Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology Minister Pila Niningi, and Commerce and Industry Minister Wera Mori who are PNC members.

Other URP members who have moved include Bougainville Provincial MP Joe Lera, Simbu Governor Michael Dua, Middle Ramu's Jonny Alonk, Kagua/Erave MP Wesley Raminai and Obura/Wanenara MP Merrah Kipefa.

The Alternate Government Camp at Laguna Hotel in Port Moresby now boast of 62 MP's, following the defection of about 13 Members of Parliament from the current coalition this afternoon.

First to arrive around 2 PM was Former Commerce and Industry Minister and Chuave MP Wera Mori, who also like other Ministers who have defected earlier, called for a change in Government.

“I’ve made this decision to basically step down in my ministry and join the Laguna camp based on my own convictions.

“Being the Minister for Commerce, it has come a time that a lot of my PIP projects have not been given significance of attention to,” Mori said.

Powered by Blogger.