Header Ads

PNG PM’s XIII named

Papua New Guinea PM’s XIII was named Thursday.

The team was announced by chairman of the PNG Rugby Football League, Sandis Tsaka, in front of naming rights sponsor, National Gaming Control Board and other stakeholders.

The NGCB PNG Prime Minister’s XIII will take on the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII at the National Football Stadium on September 23.

“This is a very strong team that was put together by the selection panel chaired by PNG LNG Kumuls coach, Michael Marum.

“It has the full blessing of all key stakeholders,” said Tsaka.

Tsaka added the PM’s XIII is not just a football match but also a way to address social issues.

“This match celebrates the rich history between PNG and Australia. In this regard, we are celebrating the political and people-to-people relationship that the two countries enjoy.

“Even more so, the sport carries the very important social message of using sports to address gender issues.

“To ensure our menfolk respect women as equal partners in development and to rid our country of gender-based violence,” said Tsaka.

Asked why there are no overseas based players in the team, Kumuls coach Michael Marum explained players like James Segeyaro, Nene Macdonald and Kato Ottio are injured, while Rod Griffin, Rhyse Martin, Justin Olam and Thompson Teteh are still playing finals football.

He said it was same for the players based in England.

Marum however added, he still has faith in the team.

“It’s still a strong side and we know they’ll do their best,” said Marum.

NGCB PNG Prime Minister’s XIII Team:

1. Brendon Gutono – Vipers

2.Charlie Simon – Tigers

3.Dilbert Issac – Gurias

4.Eddie Daffa – Lahanis

5.Jason Missian – Gurias

6.Joe Joshua – Tigers

7.John Andy – Tigers

8.Joshua Nani – Mioks

9.unior Rau – Wigmen

10.Junior Rop – Tigers

11.Karo Kauna Jnr – Hunters

12.Muka Peter Kulu – Hunters

13.Sailas Gahuna – Hunters

14.Stanford Talita – Wigmen

15.Stanley Olo – Gurias

16.Timothy Lomai – Tigers

17.Tuvi Lepan – Gurias

18.William Mone – Hunters

Coach: Stanley Tepend

Team Management: Steven Nightingale, Roderick Puname, David Westley, Solomon Kulinasi, Leonard Tarum and Tim Rodgers

Powered by Blogger.