With the people of Papua New Guinea still talking about the historic third-place finish of their U-23 men’s side in the XV Pacific Games, PNGFA is looking for another history making in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ Qualifierswith the announcement of their 29 men train-on squad.
The squad will moves into camp on Sunday 08 November with their assistant coach Reginald Davani. The camp will be held at PNGFA Academy in Lae from 09-13 November.
Assistant coach Reginald Davani said as PNGFA continues to build the foundations for the team’s campaign towards the Nations Cup, his task now is to assess, assemble and put the best team forward for the qualifiers for Russia 2018.
Mainly the squad will reflects on the U23 players which participated in the 2015 July Pacific Games, said Davani.
The 2016 OFC Nations Cup, which acts as Stage 2 of Oceania's, will take place from 28 May-11 June 2016 with games to be played at Sir John Guise Stadium and the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.
Along with being the next step on the Road to Russia the Nations Cup offers entry to the 2017 Confederations Cup for the winners, and attracts a global audience thanks to the tournament’s role in the region’s World Cup qualifying pathway.
The 2016 Nations Cup will be played out between two groups of four teams, with the top two sides advancing to the semi-finals.
Group A is made up of New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea and Samoa, who won the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ Qualifiers OFC Stage 1 in September, with the group rounded out by defending champions Tahiti.
Group B contains four-time champions New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Fiji.
The top three nations in each group will progress to FIFA World Cup Russia™ Qualifiers OFC Stage 3.
The squad: Goal Keepers - Leslie KALAI, Ismael POLE, Ronald WARISAN, Charles LEPANI; Central Defenders - Valentine NELSON, John RAY, Joshua TALAU, Agi MOSES, Japhet TIAMPO; Full Backs - Daniel JOE, Koriak UPAIGA, Roland BALA, Jeremy YASASA, Otto KUSUNAN; Mid-field - Jacob SABUA, Darren STEVEN, Nathan JAMES, Simon EMMANUEL, Troy GUNEMBA, David MUTA, Michael FOSTER; Forwards - Raymond GUNEMBA, Nigel DABINYABA, Papalau AWELE, Patrick AISA, Neil HANS, Emmanuel AIREM, Tommy SEMMY, Basil JOFARI.
Extended List - Rodney MOBIHA, John BAI, Jamal SEETO, Makis GELMAL, Vanya MALAGIAN.
Overseas Based - David BROWNE (HOL), Wira WAMA (USA), Alwin KOMOLONG (USA), Harry HILLARY-JENKINS (NZL), Maurie WASI (NZL), Felix KOMOLONG (NZL), Gimale ESSACU (AUS), Brad MCDONALD (AUS), George SLEFENDORFAS (AUS), Brendan BENI (HKG), Jordan SEETO (AUS).
Previous Post Next Post