July 16, 2014


The Autonomous Bougainville Government is embarking on reducing the number of Ministries in the executive team from 15 to 11 members.
It means that at least one or two government ministers will be responsible for two portfolios while the rest will concentrate on one portfolio each.
A-B-G President, Dr John Momis says his government is going through an exercise to reduce costs and to create an effective government system that is more committed to servicing the needs and aspirations of the people of Bougainville.
Dr Momis announced this recently in Kokopo at the close of a weeklong conference for the Joint Supervisory Body.
Under the restructure, the Bouganville executive government in which he is the chairman, has delegated powers and responsibilities over 11 government departments to key members of the ABG executive government.
Dr Momis says positions for departmental heads who will be known as Directors will be advertised shortly for the 11 government departments.
The departments include Treasury and Finance, Commerce and Tourism, Technical department, Women Youths and Sports.
Police and Correctional Services are the two new departments that have been established following the transfer of the Police and CS powers from the National Government to the Autonomous Government of Bougainville.

Author: verified_user