Header Ads

PNG Kumuls and Oil Search Orchids teams announced for Rugby League World Cup 9s

The PNG LNG Kumuls and Oil Search PNG Orchids National 9s Teams for the inaugural Rugby League World Cup 9s in Sydney later this month have been announced.

PNGRFL Chairman Sandis Tsaka said the players for the respective teams were selected by the National Selectors and the Coaches on form and performance with most having just completed their seasons in the finals of their respective competitions.

Chairman Tsaka said the respective teams will be known as the PNG LNG Kumuls 9s and Oil Search PNG Orchids 9s.
Oil Search PNG Orchids Executive Committee Chairperson Ruth Waram said the team was selected on agility and speed.

“We may still be finding our feet in the 13s game but this shorter version will suit our style and athleticism, which we naturally have.” Waram said.

“Most of the team members won the Silver medal at the Pacific Games in Samoa in July and that experience plus playing together will keep us competitive in the tournament,” she said.

Waram said the team will be coached by Bagelo Solien.

“He did a good job with the Women at the Pacific Games and then against the Brisbane Broncos NRLW last month and I have every confidence and support in him to continue on this journey,” Waram said.

PNG LNG Kumuls Executive Committee Chairman Sudhir Guru said the PNG LNG Kumuls 9s will be coached by Michael Marum. “He and the National Selectors have picked a very strong team and they will do us proud in this shorter version,” Guru said.

Only four nations – Australia, New Zealand, England and PNG – are taking part in the RL WC Women’s 9s competition.

Twelve nations are competing in the Men’s tournament with the PNG LNG Kumuls 9s in Pool A alongside Australia, New Zealand and USA.

England, France, Lebanon and Wales make up Pool B while Pool C has Tonga, Cook Islands, Fiji and Samoa.

The PNG LNG Kumuls 9s and Oil Search PNG 9s teams will assemble in Port Moresby on Monday October 7, 2019.

The RL World Cup 9s will be played on October 18 and 19, 2019 at Bankwest Stadium in Sydney Australia.
Powered by Blogger.