Header Ads

PNG Hunters Coach, player recognised for Sporting efforts

Former Hunters player Ase Boas

Papua New Guinea  rugby league has finally been recognised in the 2019 New Year Honours List announced by Government House yesterday.
The PNG Hunters Coach Michael Marum and captain Ase Boas were recognised for leading the SP Hunters to the premiership win in Queensland in 2017. Marum was made a member of the order of Logohu (ML) for services to rugby league as the highly successful coach fof the SP Hunters which won the 2017 Queensland Intrust Super Cup, and as coach of the national team PNG Kumuls.
Ase Boas received the lower national Logohu medal (LM) for services to the sporting code as player and captain in leading the SP Hunters on its victorious campaign in the Queensland Intrust Cup in 2017.
The two sportsmen were among 76 Papua New Guinean residents and former residents who were recipients of the Orders of Papua New Guinea announced by the acting Official Secretary Bill Taraso.
New Chief Justice Sir Gibbs Salika topped the list – he was the sole Grand Companion of the Order of Logohu who was conferred with the title “Chief” in the list.
Sir Gibbs, the longest serving judge of the National and Supreme Courts, was recognised for his contribution to legal education and judicial training.
Two notable persons were recipients of the next level of awards Star of Melanesia.
They are Catholic Bishop Rochu Tatamai, and former Australian political adviser Jeffrey Charles Wall CBE.
Bishop Tatamai, who is bishop of Kavieng, New Ireland, was recognised for his leadership as president of the Catholic Bishop of PNG and the Solomon Islands while Mr Wall was recognised for his long and distinguished service to the Government, PNG-Australia and PNG-Queensland relationships.
In more recent years, Mr Wall had been recognised in his key role as an adviser to the YWAM Medical Ship Program.
Although low-keyed, the recipients this year included Deputy Police Commissioner Raphael Huafolo and Justice Goodwin Poole, the former recognised for his distinguished service to the police force and the latter for his service to the community, law and judiciary and a judge.
Powered by Blogger.